Morrell Family Mission Trip to Alaska

27788665_963876233776540_7512071167747851648_o

Follow us on social media:

YOUTUBE        INSTAGRAM        FACEBOOK

SEND MISSIONARY SUPPORT

_________________________________________________________

ALASKA MISSION TRIP

Alaska

Finally catching up on my newsletters again! Our mission trip to Alaska!

God sent me  to Alaska for five years in a row! This was mission trip number five!

Alaska is a real mission field with a lot of lost souls. Anchorage in particular has a very high crime rate, with marijuana dispensary stores all over the place, and a large homeless population. There’s also remote villages where the natives lives.

I’ve never preached downtown Anchorage without being assaulted. That’s how much of a mission field it is!

What makes Alaska a unique ministry trip for me is that the whole family gets to come. My host home in Alaska has always been kind enough to invite the whole family! What a blessing!

UNIVERSITY OF ALASKA, ANCHORAGE

The University of Alaska in Anchorage rarely ever gets a campus preacher, unless I come to town. Five years in a row I have started my campus preaching tour on this campus at the beginning of each semester. Usually I go to campuses with friends but on this particular day, I went armed only with my Bible and the Holy Spirit. That meant that I couldn’t get any video of the outreach, but I did get audio which I uploaded to YouTube.

After just a little bit of preaching, I was able to get a nice little crowd together in front of the cafeteria. The main topic I wanted to talk about was Atheism, as I was freshly armed with an Intelligent Design argument from DNA from a 700 page book I had just read. This gave me perfect material for campus!

The argument is that the specified arrangement of nucleotide bases in the genetic code requires an intelligent mind for the same reason that an intelligent arrangement of letters on a page does. Letters can be arranged in any random order but for them to mean something, an intelligent mind has to arrangement them in a particular order. That’s the difference between “Siemhta si Uitpds” and “Atheism is Stupid.” The same is true with the genetic code.

Ive shared this argument on many campuses and have never had an atheist refute it. They don’t even try.

INDEPENDENCE MINE

Alaska2

Independence Mine is an old abandoned gold mining operation that has been turned into an Alaskan State Park.

Set high up a mountain, it has a beautiful view.

As you can see, this place is perfect for a family hike!

It’s also perfect for family pictures!

But more importantly, great scenery to film a YouTube Bible Study!

I filmed a Bible teaching here called, “The Greatest Heresy on YouTube – Repent of Your Sins is Works Based Salvation.”

I explained in the video how dangerous it is to confuse repentance and works. The Bible distinguishes between the two. “Bring forth fruit meet for repentance” it says. And also, “Repent, turn to God, and do works meet for repentance.”

False teachers today try to do away with the requirement of repentance for salvation by falsely categorizing it as “works,” so that they can say “repent of your sins is works based salvation.” What a demonic deception this is!

I’m currently working on re-uploading all my YouTube videos, including this one. Keep a look out for it and subscribe to my YouTube channel if you haven’t already.

And why film only one Bible Study at this beautiful location when you can film two?

I found another great location with fog rolling in over the mountain and filmed, “Why I Believe in the Trinity! God in Three Persons!” just in time before the fog covered everything!

Fog certainly has a mysterious feel to it and the Trinity is possibly the greatest mystery about God.

ALASKA STATE FAIR

When you bring the whole family, it’s just Outreaches and Bible Studies but Family Fun time too!

Here you can see my youngest daughter Mikaela enjoying the petting zoo!

The Alaskan State Fair brings in people from all over Alaska and entertainers from all over the United States.

One of our favorites is the Lumber Jack show which we enjoy with our host home every year.

DRIVE TO FAIRBANKS ALASKA

While I’ve been to Anchorage Alaska many times, Fairbanks is a place I had never been to before.

The University of Alaska in Fairbanks was on my bucket list of campuses I’ve wanted to preach on.

The drive from Anchorage to Fairbanks is over six hours, especially with children, but its a beautiful drive that is well worth it!

See what I mean? Gorgeous scenic driving!

And then we saw the Batmobile that looked like it was straight out of the 1960’s TV show… so we stopped to get a picture of that too.

Mt. Denali is the highest mountain peak in North America! You can see it on your drive to Fairbanks from Anchorage. Of course the family had to stop to see that. This was a great Homeschool Field Trip for the kids!

ABORTION CLINIC, FAIRBANKS

The first place we preached in Fairbanks was outside of the Abortion Clinic!

I had a couple of brothers that joined me on these outreaches and one brother, David Grisham, brought his Grim Reaper costume. That was perfect for getting our message across outside of Planned Parenthood.

Of course, when you are protesting abortion in a Grim Reaper costume in Fairbanks Alaska, the Police are bound to show up. Planned Parenthood called them. But they were fair and nice. They said as long as we were on the public sidewalk there’s no problem. It’s because we took the Social Media picture at the front door that Planned Parenthood called. But that was just our photo location. The rest of the time we were on the sidewalk.

UNIVERSITY OF ALASKA, FAIRBANKS

Finally I made it to the University of Alaska in Fairbanks…. and the campus was dead. And I mean dead dead. There was hardly anyone walking around. And the class changes seemed short, small, and few.

We would start preaching and would preach for an hour or two before we finally got a little attention. But once some students came out to protest us with their rainbow flag, it was all over. That was all we needed to stir up a lot more students to come and listen.

Typically when you preach on a campus that has never seen a campus preacher before, students don’t know how to react. Sometimes these campuses can be shy. They don’t know or understand that with this sort of thing, heckling is encouraged. Heckling is what we were going for. We want the students to heckle us. We want them to engage us in public debate. We want to create a scene and stir things up. And once the students realize that, they start having fun and stay for hours.

It was nice to have a brother to tag team preach with. I can preach by myself for 5-7 hours but don’t prefer it. I’d rather share the crowd with a brother and preach 1-3 hours before rotating.

And just like the University of Alaska in Anchorage, I argued against Atheism using the Intelligently Designed DNA argument. And just like in Anchorage, not a single atheist even tried to refute it.

NORTHERN LIGHT SHOW

Fairbanks is a great location to see the Northern Lights. We had seen some while in Anchorage, off in the distance, but nothing like this. We prayed for the Lord to give us some great Northern Lights and these danced right over our host home for maybe 3 hours!

They kept coming and at one point was thick over our heads like a fog covering the entire sky. I never expected to see so many Northern Lights. And to have them last for hours! It was the Lord blessing us with a glimpse of His beauty and glory.

This is one of my favorite pictures that I took. It looks kind of like a Dove to me. It was at this moment that I felt the Lord say, “Point your camera straight up now and take one.” I did. And this is how it turned out. Beautiful.

QUICK VISIT TO THE NORTH POLE 

North Pole Alaska! The North Pole is real! It’s a town in Alaska. And my kids got to enjoy it!

FATHER AND SON NATURE HIKE

My primary ministry is to my family, to my wife, daughters, and son.

Justice is my one and only son so it’s always special when we get to hang out just the two of us.

FILMING MORE BIBLE STUDIES

With so many great scenic locations in Alaska to film Bible Studies, I had to film some more.

This one was about, “Does God violate Free Will in Salvation?”

I showed from Scripture how God commands us, leads us, teaches us, influences us, convicts us, enlightens us, etc. But He does not force us. He treats us as free moral agents and uses means consistent with our free will to bring us to repentance.

I filmed another one here on “Can You Lose Your Salvation.” This one is on YouTube right now.

This is a “Open Theism Bible Study” by the lake. I got to enjoy some hot tea while the sun was setting. I was glad I was able to film before the sun completely set! But by the end of the video, it was pretty dark. This one is on YouTube as well. It talks about God in relation to time and sequence. God is active in history.

FLIGHT BACK HOME TO TEXAS

As you can see, traveling through the airports with four children is pretty fun…. and difficult…. at the same time.

______________________________________________________

MINISTRY TESTIMONIES

Every month I get messages and emails from people all over the world who have been blessed by my ministry. Here are just two examples.

“Jesse, thanks for saving my life and my marriage.” ~ Leo

Amazing fruit! Please pray for these brothers!

______________________________________________________

BECOME A PARTNER WITH US AND 

HELP US CHANGE THE WORLD FOR CHRIST

SupportTheMission
MorrellFamily1

SUPPORT THE MISSION &
BECOME A MONTHLY SUPPORTER 

Would you consider giving $25, $50, or $100 a month?

The Morrell Family is a missionary family to the United States, preaching the gospel in the open air to hundreds of thousands each year.

We live by faith as God provides from the body of Christ through personal gifts.

Will you consider being a monthly supporter or giving a one-time gift? Every little bit helps!

Paypal: Click Here

Physical Mail:

Jesse & Krista Morrell

P.O. Box 1527

Lindale TX, 75771

(Make Checks out to “Jesse Morrell” to be personal gifts or out to “Crossroads Community Church” if you want a tax break). 

Special thanks in advance to our supporters.

THE BATTLE IS ON!

We couldn’t do it without you!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment