The Sinner’s Prayer is Biblical – Calvinism Refuted Again

Calvinists hate it because its synergism not monergism, but The Sinners Prayer is biblical.

We see many examples of sinners in the Bible being told to pray for forgiveness, praying for forgiveness, and being justified and saved through doing so:

Acts 8:22 – Repent therefore of this thy wickedness, and pray God, if perhaps the thought of thine heart may be forgiven thee

Luke 18:10 – Two men went up into the temple to pray…

Luke 18:13- And the publican, standingafar off, would not lift up so much as hiseyes unto heaven, but smote upon hisbreast, saying, God be merciful to me a sinner.

Luke 18:14 – I tell you, this man went down to his house justified…”

Matthew 6:9 – After this manner therefore pray ye: Our Father which art in heaven, Hallowed be thy name….

Matthew 6:12 – And forgive us our debts, as we forgive our debtors….

Psalms 51:1 – Have mercy upon me, O God, according to thy lovingkindness: according unto the multitude of thy tender mercies blot out my transgressions.

Psalms 51:2 – Wash me throughly from mine iniquity, and cleanse me from my sin.

Psalms 51:3 – For I acknowledge my transgressions: and my sin is ever before me

The key is that it must be a prayer of repentance:

Isaiah 55:6 – Seek ye the LORD while he may be found, call ye upon him while he is near:

Isaiah 55:7 – Let the wicked forsake his way, and the unrighteous man his thoughts: and let him return unto the LORD, and he will have mercy upon him; and to our God, for he will abundantly pardon.

John 9:31 – Now we know that God heareth not sinners: but if any man be a worshipper of God, and doeth his will, him he heareth

Psalms 66:18 – If I regard iniquity in my heart, the Lord will not hear me

1John 3:22 – And whatsoever we ask, we receive of him, because we keep his commandments, and do those things that are pleasing in his sight.

I was born again when I said the sinners prayer in rehab, alone in my room with God, back in the summer of 2000. Just as it is written:

Acts 2:21 – And it shall come to pass, that whosoever shall call on the name of the Lord shall be saved.

Romans 10:13 – For whosoever shall call upon the name of the Lord shall be saved.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment